City of Springfield

Mayor:  Chris Essex

127 West Main Street
Springfield, KY 40069

Phone: 859-336-5440

Fax: 859-336-5455


Web site:

Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am – 4:30pm EST

City Council Meeting: 2nd Tuesday, 5:30pm EST

History: Springfield, the seat of Washington County, was established in 1793, and named for the springs in the area. A post office opened as Springfield Court House in 1796. The population in 2010 was 2,519.

Springfield City Hall