City of New Haven


Mayor:  Mary Linda Mattingly

302 Center Street
PO Box 98
New Haven, KY 40051

Phone: 502-549-3177

Fax: 502-549-1002


Web site:

Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am – 4:30pm EST

City Commission Meeting: 3rd Thursday, 5:00pm EST

History: New Haven is a southern Nelson County town on the rolling Fork River and KY 52. It began as Pottinger’s Landing in 1781, and was named New Haven by Colonel Samuel Pottinger after the town in Connecticut. The town was founded in 1820, and the post office opened in 1832. The population in 2010 was 855.

New Haven City Logo